US issues VISA restrictions to four African and Asian nations

Travel News 26 Sep 2017

The United States have stopped issuing certain visas to some African and Asian nations.

The new restrictions have been aimed at nations that have refused to take back citizens who have been deported. Under federal law, Secretary of State, Rex Tillerson, can stop all or specific types of visas from being issued to such nations.

On the list is Eritrea and Guinea. Cambodia and Sierra Leone are also expected to be affected by the visa restrictions.

Other countries listed as being uncompliant in accepting deportees from the US include China, Cuba, Vietnam, Laos, Iran, Burma, Morocco and South Sudan. It is not yet known if visa restrictions will be placed on nationals from these countries.

If you have any queries, please speak to your FCM travel manager

Source: Travel & Meetings Buyer